Is it really the camera?

book and coffee

Recently a fan and friend sent me an article and a video. The video really made perfect sense. It is something I have said to numerous fellow photogs as well as friends. “What am I rambling on about?” you ask. Well it is best explained by something I have heard many times over the years as a photographer.

There is an amusing anecdote doing the rounds as a graphic on Facebook and elsewhere – it’s a quote ascribed to Sam Haskins. Its goes like this.

” A photographer went to a socialite party in New York. As he entered the front door, the host said ‘I love your pictures- they’re wonderful; you must have a fantastic camera.’ He said nothing until dinner was finished, then. ‘That was a wonderful dinner; you must have a terrific stove.” – Sam Haskins

My reply would have most likely been much faster, I am a bit impatient at times. I would have replied to the host. ” Thank you. I taught it everything it knows.”  So without further ado, here is the video. let me know what your thoughts are in the comments below. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

The Lab Decoy video

It is so true, even without a back story the shots would still vary. It is truly the artists perception that controls the mood or shot. There is a quote that I love and use in my business and mindset when I shoot.

To see more of my work be sure to visit my website: Monkey Photography Design

“The camera is the least important element in photography.” Julius Schulman. It has always made sense to me.

Leave a comment